Skip to main content
The OWFRankingsResultsWrestling NewsMisc.HSORWAY

In order to make the Wrestler of the Year award process interesting and a goal any wrestler can try to achieve, I've made a point system in order to make the process easy for people to understand and keep track of.

Wins=5 pts. Wins over an OR state placer get you an additional 10pts.
Losses= -5 pt. That goes for any loss.

1-3 tourney placing= 15 pts. for first, 10 pts. for second, 5 pts. for third 

District tourney placing= 40 pts. for first, 10 pts. for second and 5 pts. for third.

State tourney placing= 80 pts. for first, 30 pts. for second, 20 pts. for third, 15 pts. for fourth, 10 pts. for fifth, 5 pts. for sixth.

Now one of the complaints over the years has been whether or not certain tournaments should be worth more than others. I've thought about this a lot over the summer and school year and have come up with a list of tournaments, that if any Oregon wrestler wins or places in it, will receive additional points tournament points on top of the regular tournament points. So if I place 1st at Reno TOC, I would get 15 pts for 1st, plus an additional 60 WOTY pts, also added in would be any OR state placers or ranked wrestlers that were beaten and 5 pts for each win. Hope that made sense. The reason for this is because the level of competition is obviously greater at some tournaments than others because of the teams that show up. I went through the tournaments and looked to see the number of teams, quality and so on to judge how many points would be offered for each tournament. Some are obviously going to have more large schools and some will have more small schools. In order to make it fair for each class, I tried to include what I felt was the toughest tournaments for each class as well. These tournaments could obviously change overtime as programs start to get better, but for the most part, here is the list:

Name                           Additional Tournament Points

Reno TOC                    1. 60pts, 2. 50pts., 3. 40pts, 4. 30pts., 5. 20pts., 6. 10pts.
Doc Buchanan            1. 60pts, 2. 50pts, 3. 40pts, 4. 30pts, 5. 20pts, 6. 10pts

Resers TOC                 1. 30pts,  2. 20pts, 3. 10pts.

Sierra Nevada Classic 1. 30pts, 2. 20pts, 3. 10pts
Rose City                     1. 30pts, 2. 20pts, 10pts
Cottage Grove Invite  1. 20 pts, 2. 10 pts, 3. 5 pts.
Coast Classic               1. 20 pts, 2. 10 pts, 3. 5 pts.

Culver Invite               1. 20 pts, 2. 10 pts, 3. 5 pts

Muilenberg                  1. 20 pts, 2. 10 pts., 5 pts.

Tri State                      1. 20 pts, 2. 10 pts, 3. 5 pts.

Rollie Lane                  1. 20 pts, 2. 10 pts, 3. 5 pts

BEO Invite                  1. 20 pts, 2. 10 pts, 3. 5 pts.

Perry Burlison            1. 20 pts, 2. 10 pts., 3. 5 pts.

Wrestlers must have a minimum of atleast 20 matches in order to qualify for the points to count at the end of the year. This is to keep kids that haven't wrestled as much due to injuries, grades and so on, as the kid who lasts all season, from some how pulling ahead of the kid who wasn't hurt or in trouble.

I will keep track of all the points on the rankings page, as long as the info. I receive is accurate, this shouldn't be a problem. I will post results on this site on a weekly or bi-weekly timeframe. Final results will be posted on the home page of this site.

After state, I will have list of the top point totals from each weight in each classification. As long as records are up to date and accurate this shouldn't be a problem. Keep in mind, just because you were a state champ, doesn't necessarily mean you will make the final voting. Its a year long process, not just state results and WOTY points only work as a way to separate wrestlers and as an elimination process from each other. The points only get you to the voting stage and coaches make the final votes. Each coach gets one vote per classicification, 6 total. Votes will be tallied and I will announce the winners.

Remember any coach that wants to be part of this process, just email me, so I can add you to the list. The idea is to get as many coaches on the voting list as possible. I would certainly hope that I could get over 100 coaches on this list someday.

Remember the winner of the award from 6A, 5A, 4A, 3A, 2A/1A and Girls will receive a Trophy Cup for their efforts with name, weight, class, school and any other pertinant info. I want to make this an award every wrestler wants to achieve in the future.

4 time winners

3 time Winners
Rj Pena Sprague
Miguel Baltazar Culver
Hans Rockwell Riverside
Osawaru Odighizuwa David Douglas
Travis Wittlake Jr Marshfield
Kyleigh Lopez North Medford

2 time Winners
Zac Brunson Churchill
Brigham Hansen Riverside
Zac Cardwell Lowell
Devan Dawson Harrisburg
Dax Bennett Harrisburg
Tanner Harvey Lowell

Past WOTY Winners

6A Beau Ohlson Mt View
5A Hunter Mode Crook Co
4A Parker Robinson LaGrande
3A Gabe Vidlak Cascade Christian
2A Kaleb Oliver Oakland
Girls Emma Truex Phoenix

6A Sean Harman West Linn
5A Legend Lamer Crescent Valley
4A James Ellis Banks
3A Dax Bennett Harrisburg
2A Lorenzo Vasquez Culver
Girls Kyleigh Lopez North Medford

6A Ian Carlos North Salem
5A Logan Meek Crater
4A Travis Wittlake Jr Marshfield
3A Dax Bennett Harrisburg
2A Lorenzo Vasquez Culver
Girls- Sarah Conner Central Linn

6A Layne Van Anrooy Roseburg
5A Logan Meek Crater
4A Travis Wittlake Jr Marshfield
3A Aristotle Rockwell Riverside
2A Thomas Harvey Lowell
Girls-Kyleigh Lopez North Medford


6A Osawaru Odighizuwa David Douglas

5A Sam Colbray Hermiston

4A Travis Wittlake Jr Marshfield

3A Heath Hartley Nyssa

2A Derek Hargraves Riddle

Girls-Kyleigh Lopez North Medford


6A Osawaru Odighizuwa David Douglas

     Layne Van Anrooy Roseburg

5A Alex Rich Crescent Valley

4A Colin Purinton Banks

3A Hans Rockwell Riverside

2A Tanner Harvey Lowell

Girls-Jessica DeHart Hood River Valley

6A Osawaru Odighizuwa David Douglas
5A Sam Colbray Hermiston
4A Tyler Berger Crook County
3A Hans Rockwell Riverside
2A Tanner Harvey Lowell

Not Awarded

6A Brandon Griffin Sprague
5A Zac Brunson Churchill
4A Ronnie Bresser Henley
3A Hans Rockwell Riverside
2A Quinn Johnston Gold Beach

6A Mikey Rodriguez Hillsboro
5A Joey Delgado Hermiston
4A Colton Schilling Sweet Home
3A (Tie) Brigham Hansen Riverside
     George Swartzlender Burns
2A Zac Cardwell Lowell

6A Alex Elder West Salem
5A Zac Brunson Churchill
4A Cody Randall N Marion
3A Brigham Hansen Riverside
2A Zach Cardwell Lowell

6A RJ Pena Sprague
5A Brock Gutches Crater
4A John Tuck LaGrande
3A Devan Dawson Harrisburg
2A Cy Swartzlender Lakeview

6A RJ Pena Sprague
5A Bo Christiansen Corvallis
4A Ryland Geiger Scappoose
3A Devan Dawson Harrisburg
2A Miguel Baltazar Culver


6A RJ Pena Sprague

5A Ryan Smith Crook County

4A Josh Stalcup Estacada

3A Jacob Tomlin Colton

2A Miguel Baltazar Culver


4A Norman Richmond Jefferson

3A Zack Geisen North Valley

2A Miguel Baltazar Culver


4A Bryson Gutches Churchill

3A Ben Cate Burns

2A Barry Johnson Dayton

    Sign Guest Book  View Guest Book 

    The Oregon Wrestling Forum
    320 NE Boardman Ave
    Boardman, OR 97818
    Email: hans_130 @
    Copyright 2005-2020

    Design Your Own Website, Today!
    iBuilt Design Software
    Give it a try for Free